Home   >   Departments   >   Sheet Music   >   Strings   >   Double Bass Solo   >   Suite Milanese

Suite Milanese

Cover photograph
See larger image
Price £8.50

Bernard Salles writes: "Suite Milanese for solo double bass was written on my return from Milan in April 2016, to thank Piermario Murelli, teacher at the G. Verdi Conservatory of Milan, who had invited me to give three days of master classes to his students. During the final concert, we played extracts from my arrangement of Verdi’s “La Traviata”, for double bass ensemble (a piece which I dedicated to the double bass section of la Scala, Milan). The participants of this concert were:Eustasio Cosmo, associate professor at the Milan Conservatory, Giuseppe Ettorre and Alessandro Serra, Principal double bassists of La Scala, Attilio Corradini and Claudio Nicotra, double bassists of La Scala, alongside the students of the Milan Conservatory.

Suite Milanese is constructed around the model of a classical suite in seven movements, with each movement dedicated to a person (in the form of a portrait, as I have already written for many double bass playing friends).

1. Prelude, dedicated to Piermario Murelli, in two parts but without a break: the first, a Moderato cantabile with a plaintive and melodious feel, running into a rhapsodical and virtuoso Allegro.

2. Allemande, dedicated to Estasio Cosmo, is written in a moderate tempo, with an ebbing melancholy and unease due to its pronounced tonal instability.

3. Sarabande, strangely placed as the third movement instead of its usual fourth, is dedicated to Giuseppe Ettorre. It’s a short melodic piece to contrast with the extremely difficult “portrait” that I had already written for him!

4. Courante, dedicated to Alessandro Serra, is a virtuosic piece that has the character of a tarantella, so dear to our Italian friends!

5. Minuetto, dedicated to Attilio Corradini, is a concise piece that is both classical and a little sarcastic, in the spirit of Shostakovitch.

6. Sarabande II, dedicated to Claudio Nicotra, replaces the traditional Minuet II. Its melody unfolds full of nostalgia and melancholy, in the style of Italian Baroque composers.

7. Gigue, dedicated to the students of the Milan Conservatory. With its robust character, it is written to be played by one or morel double bassists.

Bernard Salles was born in 1954 and began his musical education in his home town of Perpignan (France) where he studied double bass, organ, composition and orchestral conducting at the Conservatoire. In 1973 he want to the Conservatoire of Versailles and in 1976, at the age of 22, he was awarded a double bass teaching diploma. Since then he has taught at the Conservatoire of Pau (South-west France) and played with many major French orchestras including the Orchestre de Paris and the National Orchestra of France, under the direction of conductors such as Daniel Barenboim, Pierre Boulez, Zubin Metha and Lorin Maazel.

In 1983 he began a parallel career as a conductor and was Music Director of the Orchestra of Pau from 1996-2001. He has directed the Orchestra of Pamplona (Spain) and is currently Music Director of the OSSO (Orchestre Symphonique du Sud-Ouest).

As a composer and member of SACEM (Society of Authors, Composers and Editors of Music), he has written over 30 works including two symphonies, a cantata, a psalm for bass and orchestra, a concerto for double bass and small orchestra, Rhapsody for viola and orchestra, Triptych for orchestra, Prelude for cello and orchestra, a symphonic poem for soprano, cello and orchestra, as well as works for chamber groups, and for choir and organ. His pedagogic works are published by G.Billaudot in Paris and his works for double bass are published by Recital Music (England).

In 2010 he began a series of short pieces for unaccompanied double bass - Portraits for Friends - dedicated to his double bass playing friends.


  • 1. Preludio (for Piermario Murelli)
  • 2. Allemande (for Eustasio Cosmo)
  • 3. Sarabanda (for Giuseppe Ettorre)
  • 4. Corrente alla tarantella (for Alessandro Serra)
  • 5. Minuetto (for Attilio Corradini)
  • 6. Sarabanda II (for Claudio Nicotra)
  • 7. Giga (for the Double Bass Students at the Conservatorio G.Verdi, Milan)
  • 8. Postlude (for Alessandro Serra)

Samples available

Adobe PDF File

Get Adobe Reader

Cat No. RM619
Supplier Code RM619
Price £8.50
ComposerBernard Salles
CategoryDouble Bass Solo
PublisherRecital Music
Difficulty level8, Advanced
ISMN 979-0-57045-619-2
EAN-13 9790570456192
Weight 106 grams
Published 15th August 2017
Availability 8 in stock
See also...
RM974  A Little Suite for Frantisek Posta