Home   >   Departments   >   Sheet Music   >   Strings   >   Double Bass & Piano   >   Bass for Beginners (Piano accompaniment)

Bass for Beginners (Piano accompaniment)

Cover photograph
See larger image
Price £12.00

40 publications in this series

The Beginner Bass Series series

Recital Music publish music for every level of double bassist and in the past few years have concentrated on music for the younger player. This new and exciting series includes works with simple, accessible technical and musical challenges for beginners and progressing bassists. Piano accompaniments are supportive and written with the bass teacher in mind, creating a new repertoire which is ideal for concert and educational use.

PIANO ACCOMPANIMENT ONLY. See RM013 for Solo Double Bass Part.

Bass for Beginners is an exciting and fun book of short pieces for the young bassist. A limited range of notes and note values are included, and each piece has a simple and supportive piano accompaniment which is easily playable by the teacher, making them ideal for study or concert material. Dynamic markings are included in many, but others are a 'blank canvas' to encourage the young bassist to experiment with different sounds and to develop their own interpretation. Pizzicato and arco are included and teachers whould feel free to adapt and change any of the pieces to suit a specific student or ensemble.

'Bass for Beginners' has been completely rewritten and updated and will be available from September 2015. The new book will include 30 short pieces for open strings, first and half positions alongside a range of scales and arpeggios for the young bassist.

HUGO SCHLEMULLER (1872-1918) was a German cellist, composer and teacher. From 1902 he taught at the Hoch Conservatory in Frankfurt and in 1910 founded his own publishing company. He composed many works for cello and several pieces in 'Bass for beginners' were adapted from his 'The Very First Performance Pieces for the Young Cellist'.

ANTON HEGNER (1861-1915) was a Danish cellist and composer and the brother of Ludvig Hegner (1851-1923), the Principal Bass of the Royal Danish Orchestra. Anton was appointed Principal Cello of the New York Symphony Orchestra by Walter Damrosch and alongside composing many works for cello - both study and recital works. The works included in 'Bass for Beginners' were adapted from his 'Recreations for Young Cellists'.

VACLAV BECH (1877-1936 was a Czech bassist and studied at the Prague Conservatoire with Vendelin Sladek and Frantisek Cerny. He played in many orchestras and from 1909-1914 taught at the St. Petersburg Conservatoire, and from 1919-1936 taught at the Brno Conservatoire (Czech Republic). Bech composed a number of method and technical books for the double bass.

'Bass for Better Beginners' will introduce 2nd, 3rd and 4th positions and will be available in 2016.

Contact doublebass@tiscali.co.uk for more information.

1. Hugo Schlemuller - Play My Bass
2. Hugo Schlemuller - Ski-Run
3. Hugo Schlemuller - A Hunting Song

4. Traditional - Au Clair de la Lune
5. Mahler - Solo from Symphony No.1
6. Traditional - Frere Jacques
7. Anton Hegner - Old Song (Long, Long Ago)
8. National Anthem
9. Vaclav Bech - Czech Song No.1
10. Sea Shanty - Blow the Man Down
11. Somerset Folk Song - Searching for Lambs
12. Traditional - The Gift to be Simple (Shaker Song)
13. Sea Shanty - What Shall We Do With a Drunken Sailor?
14. Anton Hegner - Mary had a Little Lamb
15. Vaclav Bech - Czech Song No.3
16. Vaclav Bech - Slovakian National Song
17. Anton Hegner - American College Song (A-Roving)
18. Gloucestershire Folk Song - As I Sat on a Sunny Bank
19. Traditional Scottish - Auld Lang Syne
20. Spiritual - Steal Away
21. Spiritual - When the Saints Go Marching In
22. Vaclav Bech - Czech Song No.2
23. Anton Hegner - German Folk Song (Du, Du liegst mir im Herzen)
24. Anton Hegner - Old American Song (In the Gloaming)
25. Robert Schumann - The Wild Horesman
26. Vaclav Bech - Russian Song No.2
27. J.S. Bach - The New Squire (Peasant Cantata)

28. Traditional - French Folk Song
29. Traditional - Early One Morning
30. Thomas Morley - It was a Lover and his Lass

See http://contrabassconversations.com/2016/10/24/264-david-heyes-leaving-legacy/

Samples available

Adobe PDF File

Get Adobe Reader

Cat No. RM437
Supplier Code RM437
Price £12.00
ArrangerDavid Heyes
CategoryDouble Bass & Piano
PublisherRecital Music
SeriesBeginner Bass Series
Difficulty levelBeginner, 1 - 2
ISMN 979-0-57045-437-2
EAN-13 9790570454372
Weight 406 grams
Published 29th September 2015
Availability 13 in stock
See also...
RM013  Bass for Beginners (Bass Part)