Phylloscopus Publications

Phylloscopus Publications was founded in 1989 by Dr. Rachel Malloch, and continues to offer an increasingly varied catalogue of chamber music, mainly for wind instruments.  In 2010 Rachel retired and appointed Mark and Pat Goddard at Spartan Press as the custodians of the Phylloscopus dynasty. Many of the works in the catalogue where initially only available from libraries and so are now easier to obtain and to read. Some of the music is accessible for less experienced players, most is suitable for good amateur performers. Many different combinations of players are catered for, with alternative instrumentations where appropriate.  The music dates from the 16th to the 21st centuries and involves from 1 to 12 players.  The full list can be found on this website, or at

See details of all Phylloscopus titles.

Catalogue sections include music for flute(s), oboe(s), oboe d’amore and cor anglais, bassoon(s), other instrumental music, mixed wind ensembles, double reed ensembles, ensembles with piano, ensembles with strings, ensembles with voice(s).

The name Phylloscopus comes from the generic name of a group of warblers (small brown songbirds), including the native British wood warbler, chiffchaff and willow warbler.

Spartan are currently engrossed in an ambitious project to systematically re-brand the whole catalogue (750 titles),  reprinting each and every title in an up-to-date style YET still retaining Rachel’s very distinctive Phylloscopus identity. The new books are slightly wider than A4, and boast full colour,  glossy covers with barcodes.

Phylloscopus Proregulus,
Pallas Leaf Warbler

PP475 (legacy design)

PP475 (new design)