Phylloscopus Publications

Unit 2B
Station Road
PH21 1ER

Tel: 01528 544770

Fax: 01528 544771



Show list of publications

Phylloscopus Publications was founded in 1989 by Dr. Rachel Malloch and continues to offer an increasingly varied catalogue of chamber music, mainly for wind instruments. In 2010 Rachel retired and appointed Mark and Pat Goddard at Spartan Press as the custodians of the Phylloscopus dynasty. Many of the works in the catalogue where initially only available from libraries and so are now easier to obtain and to read. Some of the music is accessible for less experienced players, most is suitable for good amateur performers. Many different combinations of players are catered for, with alternative instrumentations where appropriate. The music dates from the 16th to the 21st centuries and involves from 1 to 12 players. The full list can be found on-line.
Catalogue sections include music for flute(s), oboe(s), oboe d’amore and cor anglais, bassoon(s), other instrumental music, mixed wind ensembles, double reed ensembles, ensembles with piano, ensembles with strings, ensembles with voice(s).

The word Phylloscopus comes from the generic name of a group of warblers (small brown songbirds), including the native British wood warbler, chiffchaff and willow warbler. The Greek word, loosely translated, means “looking at leaves”. The bird chosen to adorn the music is Phylloscopus proregulus, (Pallas’s Leaf Warbler). This inhabitant of Siberia and Asia can be seen in Britain when driven off course during its autumn migration. Such sightings are increasingly common, due, perhaps, to changes in climate and weather patterns.

The background colours of the distinctive Phylloscopus covers are
- Green for music for up to three instruments in ensemble - solo, duet, trio
- Blue if scored for four or five instruments
- Yellow for six or more instruments.

  • MasterCard Credit
  • JCB
  • Maestro
  • Visa Credit
  • Visa Electron
  • Powered by WorldPay